Diagnosis
10/2016
Country
US
State
FL
City
fort pierce
My apologies if this is not the proper thread, however it is my first time coming out from behind the curtain. I have been following and learning about ALS since we first suspected the possibility months prior to receiving a diagnosis. My PAL was confirmed and reconfirmed 5 months ago. On several threads it has been discussed about slow /rapid progression however I've not seen a "definition" that explains the difference. Is it determined by a timeframe, by the loss of muscle use or the inability to do certain things? In my heartfelt opinion it's all too fast and too soon.

Welcome to the family! I'm so sorry you have to join us, but at least you have found the best!

It is about the time frame and we don't really know how fast progression will be, but we can look back and see it.

My husband was gone 11 months after diagnosis. Every single week there were more and more things that were failing on him, that he could not do. That was rapid progression. I was running constantly to try and keep up with more equipment, different ways of doing things, more services and help as nothing stayed the same.

Some PALS (person with ALS so it's singular and plural like sheep :) ) will lose some ability and then stay at that stage for months or longer before that part gets worse. So for example walking is hard so they get fitted with an AFO and can walk safely for many months.

We can't say in advance what any PALS will be. My Chris remained rapid progression from a certain point, but some PALS will progress rapidly then suddenly plateau for weeks or many months without any seeming reason.

Definitely it's all too fast and every loss is too soon. We try to live in the day, as that's all any of us have no matter whether disease is a factor or not :)

Welcome initforever! Sorry you have to be here.