Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
Maryland
City
Glen Burnie
I just joined this site today, and am so very thankful! My Nephew is newly Dx'd ALS, and I am trying to educate myself and my family. I am an HIV/AIDS nurse....but this is a whole new journey. My Nephew has garbled and nasally speech....is he a candidate for Voice Bank, or should he explore another opinion (s)? Also...what antidepressants are recommended for saliva reduction? We are located in Maryland, and he will receive care @Hopkins. Thank you.

Most. ALS doctors will prescribe something else but Remeron dries my mouth out and knocks me out at night. There are others but they gave too many side effects for me.

Thank you, Kim! Did you utilize Voice Bank?

Voice needs to be clear for voice banking not garbled. My hubby has banked his voice but 2 years on his voice is just being affected now.

As Gem said if his voice is garbled voice banking won't work. If he can, though, he should try to make a couple of recordings for his child if he is understandable at all. If sounding like himself is important model talker recommends if you can't do the voice banking ask a sibling or other close relative. Won't sound like him but would be closer than generic voices.

If he is bulbar with good hand function text to speech programs abound and are available for different operating systems free or inexpensive. Down the road when he needs eye gaze type technology Hopkins has an assistive technology clinic and he can try different options

If he is bulbar he should ask about nuedexta. It is for emotional lability but there is some indication it can help slow down some bulbar symptoms temporarily.

There are various strategies for dealing with the saliva problem.

Has he been to Hopkins yet?

Last edited: