Diagnosis
10/2016
Country
US
State
Florida
City
Fort pierce
I too was recently diagnosed at mayo in Jacksonville 10/2016 I have a very supportive family this news was devastating to us all. I could use some advice that's for sure . My clinic at mayo went really well breathing was very good. Strength test was very good and the swallow test was very good so they say it's early stage I have been reasearching from stem cell to lunican to cannabis and supplements all the options out there I'm going to mayo in Minnesota in a few weeks for a second opinion and just want to ask them all the questions I can again I'm new at this looking for advice

I moved this to a new thread. Sorry to welcome you

Mayo Jax is a great place to be but getting a second opinion is always recommended.

You will find threads about all the things you mentioned here. I also recommend reading the sticky posts at the top of the general subforum and the one for VA benefits if you are a vet. There is a lot of info so read them at your own pace. You will see which ones are most immediately applicable by the titles.

You will also find support here and people who will answer your questions and offer friendship.

Glad to hear you are not too affected so far.

Last edited:
Robbie, sorry that you find yourself here. As Nikki says, pace yourself and don't feel that you have to jump into anything this second. Not everything that glitters in ALS is gold, and some can do more harm (even if just to your wallet) than good. The keys that some of us have found to longer, better life are pretty basic, like keeping your weight up, staying hydrated, starting breathing support and getting mobility devices when you need to, getting good sleep, staying as social as you want to be, keeping up with something that de-stresses you, etc.

Best,
Laurie