Diagnosis
05/2016
Country
US
State
Oklahoma
City
Tulsa
Second opinion confirmed my suspicions of ALS today. It has been a long frustrating road at times. My situation was a little unique because of financial restraints and getting to the right kind of neurologist who specializes in neuromuscular disease. The wonderful and kind people in this forum have been such a wonderful asset. Nobody wants the diagnosis but life is what it is. I am a veteran and now we should have a lot of much needed help. We have the new MDA ALS clinic in Tulsa now in which I am scheduled for the next clinic date. It seems odd to be relieved in some way of getting the diagnosis of ALS. Since ALS is now considered a service connected disability my surviving spouse will also be eligible for benefits which give me peace of mind. My main concern in these first battles was for my wife and children of which are grown and are now starting families of their own. My focus now can be on living each moment to the fullest. I have not given up, just the opposite. Like any soldier or firefighter, I have been both, I am thinking of my brothers and sisters of these terrible diseases as well. I will help and teach along my journey as I am able. Thank you again to everyone that has offered advice and support in these difficult times.

Bryan