Diagnosis
06/2014
Country
US
State
Tx
City
San Antonio
I noticed a weak left hand in fall 2013. I saw a neurologist at UT Medicine San Antonio in November and was diagnosed with multifocal motor neuropathy. I started iv immunoglobulin in February. I continued with ivig until June. It was not working. My neurologist said she was leaning toward a diagnosis of ALS and wanted me to see another neurologist in the same practice to make a diagnosis.

At this point, my left hand and wrist are paralyzed and floppy. Both elbows, both shoulders, and my right hand are very weak. I went in for an appointment with the new doc last week. She diagnosed me with brachial amyotrophic diplegia, which she described as type of motor neuron disease affecting lower motor neurons only and which limits itself to upper extremity symptoms for a long time.

I'm 64 years old, married, with two daughters and six grandchildren. I'm an English professor and still hope to work one more academic year before retiring.

I'd like to learn more about BAD. If anyone knows of good sources of info please let me know.

David

David, try to take the time to come to Appel's diagnosis session at Houston Methodist -- your neuro should be able to get you a referral ... San Antonio is a beautiful place ...

Attachments

• DSC_6529 (2).png
    DSC_6529 (2).png
    988 KB · Views: 184
  • DSC_6536-4.png
    DSC_6536-4.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 164
Hi, David, and welcome to our diverse club.

BAD is also called "flail arm syndrome" or the "flail arm" variant of ALS. Median survival is described as ~5y but based on pretty old/geographically clustered data. You may or may not get that academic year, depending on how much you have to do physically. If you mostly lecture/critique and can find a way to grade papers (or have a TA?), you should be OK. It might be a good time to buy voice recognition software (Dragon) if you don't have it. Sign up now for a "disabled person" parking sticker and the like.