Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
ID
City
Boise
I am an active duty army officer with over 15 years in and today I was diagnosed with MND. My Neuro has been testing me for over a year 3ea EMG, brain and spinal MRI, spinal tap, DATSCAN, etc. he has ruled out pretty much everything but ALS. I have both UMN and LMN signs to include: hyperrefelxia and babinski positive on both legs and feet, atrophy of legs and left hand, fasics, and a very abnormal latest EMG (3rd in a year). First two EMG were 2 months apart at the onset of symptoms and both fell into the normal range.

Symptoms started with numbness in hands and feet, tripping over and dropping things, left foot drop, left hand grip and pinch strength loss, loss of balance, fasics, and extreme fatigue. As a Soldier, I tried hard to hide things at first, but it quickly became apparent that I could. Not. I am 40 and it took around 18 months to diagnose, so I still have hope that I will have a slow progression and that treatment will be found soon, stem cell or otherwise. I have great difficulty walking and fall down a lot, but I am getting a right knee brace to stop the knee buckling and a left foot brace to combat the left foot drop and a cane in the next few weeks.

My Neuro stated he firmly believes that I am in the initial stage of ALS but that he needs 3-6 months and another EMG before he will confirm the ALS diagnosis, so for now he diagnosed me with MND. He stated he is very sure it isn't one of the other MND subtypes.

So I have read up on the army disability evaluation system and VA and SSDI and am comfortable that I will be ok financially and with healthcare. I have a lot of reading to do on the disease and how to eat, exercise, rest etc to help myself as much much as possible.