PALS
Diagnosis
04/2013
Country
US
State
Texas
City
I have posted a few times but I want to introduce myself & say hello. I was diagnosed with ALS on 4/15/2013 ( the worst day of my life).
I am a 43 yr. old female. I have been married to my wonderful & caring husband for 24 yrs. We have a 22 yr old son who helps with my care a lot. He is my heart & soul :smile:

I was a certified nurse aide until last month (April). My hands & arms became too weak to do my job.

My symptoms started in my left hand, which is now usless & atrophied. Right hand is now weak & almost non-usable. I still try to do things with my hands but really can't & I get so frustrated. I am thankful that I can still walk but legs are getting weaker.
My sweet husband & son help me with anything that I am unable to do.
Although we have this horrible disease, I am glad that we have a forum with a wealth of info. & caring PALS.

i am now at same point you are but started over four years ago with first diagnosed dec o9, second diagnosed feb 2010 and for stubborn va third diagnosed sep 10. i strongly believe there are things you can do do to extend life expectancy. some on this forum do not believe this. remember the three rules for any disease. strong belief system, hope, positive mental attitude. please, get your arms wrapped around this (depession speeds progression) and please sign up to be a drug trial volunteer. now that i am over 3 years can no longer participate after doing two drug trials. where am i, still walk, tallk, eat, and breath on my own, fvc 89, exercise regularly, but wife must dress me and cut my food. life is good. peace and success

Hey txgirl, welcome. Like pearshoot says, keeping the mind busy and finding ways to stay involved in projects can have such a positive impact. That is awesome that you have a good support system at home. Reach out anytime! Cheers.

Hi TXgirl. Welcome! I'm new to this too. Just joined a couple days ago.
Kevin

Hello Tex & Ozzy,