Diagnosis
03/2016
Country
US
State
Md
City
Rockville
Hi, my sister has als. As we can't go off for a spa weekend as once hoped, I want to do a spa day (or hour) for her in her home. She can't speak. She doesn't communicate well. What do folks recommend? Foot massage? Facial? I'm new at this and want to help her feel better and feel helpless. I'd ask her but that's doesn't work anymore. Would love advice.

Re: Want to give sister a spa "day"

My PALS loves a good massage. The problem he has now is that he has the feeding tube so can't lay on this stomach. Although, I think he could if he were to find a place that does maternity massages. He also can't lay flat without feeling shortness of breath so that would probably keep him from getting a full massage at this point. The last massage he did was a chair massage.

Not sure where your sister's progression is at this point? Can she not communicate via text to speech? It would be nice to know what she would enjoy?! A facial and a pedicure would be really nice. Maybe even a manicure? I really enjoy a good hand massage.

So nice of you to think of nice things you can do for your sister.

I have a spa pedicure once a month at home, we use the tilt on the power chair as it makes it easy to get my feet in and out of the bubbles. She does a very gentle massage of my feet and lower legs that really reduces the swelling I get. i love it and it always makes me feel nicer. I also get reflexology when I go to hospice which is yummy as the therapist mixes up special aromatherapy oils. I find this is benificial as it's very relaxing and we have a mindfulness meditation session while she is working on my feet.

What you do will depend on how mobile she is for access and what kind of things she liked before her illness. It's a lovely idea.

Wendy