Diagnosis
02/2015
Country
US
State
FL
City
Oxford
I've been learning from you all since March 2015. It's time I got involved! Just call me Kat...

In April I attended my first local support group meeting and found it very informative. One of the next things I intend to do is get established at the local ALS Clinic in Tampa, Fl. I have been a Licensed Medical Massage Therapist since 2000 and I love being in service. Unfortunately being unable to communicate with clients required me to close my practice of 16 years. :cry:

Dec. 2014 was my first symptoms of slurring. Today I use an iPad mini with an AAC Flip Writer app to speak. I am still mobile but I have been experiencing weakness in my legs, over reactive reflexes in my legs & facilitation (twitching) in my back muscles at my spine. I have been labeled with PBA in February this year.

I also follow alternative medicine instead of traditional medicine, use organic formula with my feeding tube called "Liquid Hope" and still eat soups and blenderized foods by mouth. Ok, that's my intro.....

It's so nice to meet you all!

I would call the clinic asap. The wait list is often 2-4 months. Nice to meet you. So sorry you are joining us.

Oops, my symptoms started Dec 2013 not 2014.

Hello Kat, welcome to this very informative, supportive forum.
God bless, Janelle x

Good morning,
I have contacted the Tampa clinic & yes it is a five month wait. They called me the two days later to see if I could come in the following day, but I had a conflict & couldn't make that time. Fortunately I'm doing well, I can see the cheaper director next week (@our support group meeting) to help me create a plan For future needs. I have to praise the Traditional Chinese Medicine Dr. In Oct 2014 he said I would be dead with in one year if I didn't stop working and take care of myself. I am so much better now than I was this time last year. I am so grateful for him & this disease, appreciating what I have in my life today.

Loving life, KatB
B-)