Diagnosis
03/2010
Country
US
State
WA
City
Belllevue
I am new to this thread. Last month my dad diagnosed as he is suffering from PBP. This all started with slight trouble in speech. Now his speech is not clear (most times), sometimes problem with controlling saliva, little difficulty in chewing, facial muscle weakness. Apart from these he is very fine. He is doing physical therapy, speech therapy, Yoga. (it looks like he built some facial muscle recently). Is this possible or my imagination?

Is there any medicine to slow or stop PBP from progressing? Any other relevant info is really helpful. Are there any hospitals in USA to who are profession in treating PBP?

Thanks for your help. I really need it.

Raj

Raj, there is no way to stop progression. Is your Dad being followed by Medical people that specialize in ALS? I believe that all of the research shows that speech therapy is counter productive. Some of the PALS actually had stimulation done and it increased the progression.
The yoga sounds perfect as it is about gentle stretching. Your Dad will need a feeding tube and BiPap sooner rather than later. Encourage him to be on a high fat calorie diet. My husband uses Robinul at night to help with the secretions. Welcome to the forum!

Thanks for your advice, I really need it now.

No, My dad is not followed by ALS specialized Medical people. He is living in India now, and I got know about this yesterday (just before posting in this forum).

Raj, just wondering how you and your Father are doing today?

We are opting for Ayurveda therapy now; i heard they have success in arresting the PBP progress. I will post in this forum on it progress, If that helps. I am also expiring options in Homeopathy, where I also heard success in stopping the progress.