Reason
Other
Country
US
State
ga
City
woodstock
I have been diagnosed with PLS. My gate is affected and my speech. However, to date, I have no spasticity. I have read that no spasticity likely means it's ALS and not PLS.
I was diagnosed in August with symtoms affecting speech now for 20 months.
Any thoughts?

Hello MES, I have also been diagnosed with PLS, and I am not an expert on the subject, but I can share my views. Mine started in 2008 with slurred speech and a raspy voice. I am now basically not understandable. It started affecting my gate in 2011 and has progressed (now) to using a walker and/or wheelchair 100%. I have pretty severe spasticity which I take Baclofen orally. Although my leg muscles are very weak, I have not (yet) experienced the severe muscle wasting (at least visually) associated with ALS. It think (not positive) both ALS and PLS patients can get spasticity. My EMGs have displayed my upper motor neurons are degenerating, but not the lower, which is the main difference between these disorders. Just sharing my story here, but each case is unique. Hope this helps and good luck!

Tractor

MES, during my last visit to my neuro, he remarked that spasticity was absent.

BUT....I'm on baclofen, so the decreased tone he observed may have been related to the timing of meds. It's all a mystery to me -- even when the doc noted no measurable spasticity, my legs didn't share his insights. :)

I was first diagnosed with "progressive spastic paraparesis" - sx. began in both legs (pain, spasticity, weakness, legs felt like I was walking in sand). Now, I have considerable involvement -- both arms included, low back, neck, shoulders, hands -- you name it, I get spasms there.
Have neurological bladder (and related) too. Which is why I'm often reticent to leave the house.