Diagnosis
10/2013
Country
US
State
PA, No longer live in ME
City
Pocono's
Good morning, I’m new to the forum and this is my first post (been a reader for a while). A little about myself, I’m a 30 year Navy vet, was a big runner and gym rat before all this started about 5 years ago, it is amazing to see the drop in activity. Now just weed whacking the yard causes hands and trunk cramp, I have to take a break every couple of minutes. The spasticity is the worse; the meds seem to help some. Enough of that, my Doctor says he has it down to two things PLS or HSP, (personally I think PLS). The Doc said he would call it PLS it I displaced more muscle weakness, I have terrible muscle fatigue, it seems my arms and shoulders some days get fatigued just while I’m standing. Do all of you experience noticeable muscle weakness; I have experienced some but can still do a lot. I followed Wendy’s post from a few weeks ago; her initial post nailed almost every one of my symptoms. Looking forward to you reply’s, thank you.

Talking about weakness is a funny thing, because how it defines medically and how it is defined in English are different.

Medically speaking, PLS and HSP both cause spastic weakness early in the disease, and then possibly flaccid weakness very late in it. (Many people stick with spastic weakness for their whole life.) When "weakness" is used by itself, the meaning defaults to flaccid weakness, generally. As an additional factor, the drugs that control spasticity induce flaccid weakness. Another wrinkle - if what you have is indeed HSP, one of the very common complications is direct muscle problems. My HSP is mitochondrial, for instance, and long before I had spasticity or any neuro symptoms in certain areas I had limited use of them anyway due to terrible inflammation. I had to alternate hands when writing for instance - 2 paragraphs right hand, 1 left, to make it through school.