Diagnosis
01/2007
Country
US
State
tx
City
Houston
It seems my previous thread on PLS and military veterans was removed so i'm opening a new one.

As some of you are aware there are a couple of us veterans with PLS on this forum that are fighting for benefits through the Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA). I have been fighting for almost 5 years. I have been denied twice and am currently schedualed for an appeals hearing with the Board of Veterans Affiars (BVA) on Oct. 29, 2012. This is the last step in the process. If I am denied again I will have to hire an attorney and sue the DVA which, could take years.

I would like to hear from anyone that would like to share any advise or stories about thier experiences with the DVA.

We are on the process, appealing because since my husband was ONLY Army Nat Guard, his active doesn't count. How long did it take to get your appeal date set.

My husband was army reserves.

We are on the process, appealing because since my husband was ONLY Army Nat Guard, his active doesn't count. How long did it take to get your appeal date set.

It took about a year and a half. I guess it really depends on how busy your regional office is. Here in Houston they are very back logged so appeal's can take between a year to a year and a half.

My husband was army reserves.

I was actually Marine Corps. Reserves but my unit was called to active duty during Operation Desert Storm. We were only on active duty for a little over three months when the war ended so I just barely qualifed as a veteran. They say you have to be on active duty for a minimum of 90 consecuative days during war time to qualify for veteran's benefits.

We are appealing on the grounds that the study the 90 day rule was based on says that it needs to be measured on years of contact with elements that may contribute to the hazards that may cause ALS. My husband also worked full time for the AMG, wearing a uniform every day for six years, and