Reason
PALS
Country
US
State
Connecticut
City
New Britain
I have been taking baclofen, 20mgs every 2hrs. Yrs I know that's a lot, and yes you may wonder how I can stand not sleep but I needed that much to cross the blood brain barrier. I feel really stiff, I have muscle spasams but they don't turn into pain from that. I'm just so stiff and it feels like built up tension in my shoulders.

Sometimes the baclofen doesn't cover all the pain, or if I forget a dose I'm usually f'ed for the rest of the day, or if I do too much I don't recover til the next day or dayafter. My main problem is that, but also I need to have surgery on my ankles. Baclofen is opiate resistant, I always wondered when I took a pain pill every once in a while why I just felt high but was still in pain...

I KNOW I will need opiates for my surgery. I'm NOT good with pain, surprised I'm actually dealing with this. So I need to try diff medicine. Help please! I was looking at zanaflex, but it looks like lol do that first then baclofen, making it seem less effective. I've heard gabapentin is good, but I'm assuming just that will not do the trick. I have to talk this over with my pcp cuz my neurologist had his secretary tell me he gives the diagnosis and my pcp does everything else so...if you haven ideas or suggestions it would be GREATLY appreciated!

I have never heard or read, that baclofen is opiate resistant. I know it can help with opiate addiction. If it is opiate resistant? Then you can have non opiate based analgesics. You will need to discuss it with your Doctor, and find alternatives.

I am interested in your comment about overdoing it, and taking a couple of days to recover. Seems to be a common problem with pls. I can be floored for 24. -48 hours after doing strenuous exercise without very frequent breaks.