Diagnosis
01/2010
Country
US
State
MD
City
Havre de Grace
Well, finally we have diagnosed of PLS. No surprise here but I guess when you finally hear it and its reality it is a bit of a shock to the system. My husband got the diagnosed on Jan 13. The doctor is going to put him on Rilutek b/c his progression has been insanely fast since May of last year. Went from using cane in September to walker in November, now cannot go out of house without wheelchair. He is no longer able to drive, hands have lost fine motor skills, gripping a glass of water is a bit touchy. Last EMG in Sept 09 was clean.

So I am replacing our stoneware and glassware with plasticware! I am a gourmet cook and have always been against plasticware but you gotta do what you gotta do. :grin: Safety first!

Fortunately my husband is still working from home but we've moved the office to the kitchen rather than our 2nd floor loft. Master bedroom is already on main floor so that helps. I feel like he could really use a scooter but I don't want to get to these things sooner then when we truly need them. Meaning I am happy that he gets a bit of exercise moving about the house with the walker. I know this is exhausting for him at times but I want him to get the exercise since PT was too exhausting!

Anyway, we just live day to day hoping its a good day but knowing tomorrow may not be so good.

Thanks to everyone on this sight. You've been more helpful these past few years then you can know.

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: Finally Dx

Well, here is a hearty welcome for your husband into that illustrious, neurological winning lottery club of those diagnosed with PLS! (odds of 1 in 10 million)

I'm sorry his progression has been so fast. It makes me feel bad for being such a slow progresser.

Zaphoon

Hi Just J,