Diagnosis
10/2009
Country
US
State
Georgia
City
Peachland
My name is Deborah and I have ALS. I have had a hard time saying that now that I know what it is I have been fighting for the last year. I have had tests for the last year and no one could tell me what was going on. I had slurred speech, swallowing problems and problems breathing. I finally went to Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville and got my diagnosed on Wednesday of last week.

I am having a hard time with this diagnosis. I guess I am going through the grieving process. I guess I am saying all this to say that I am glad you are here to help me through this.

I have always been an active person, a chef by trade, and also a hard worker at my church. I crochet and have a Yahoo charity group who crochets, knitss and such for charity. I can't stand to think about not being able to do any of these things.

I think I could take not being able to talk (even though I can talk the oink off a pig) more than I can stand to think about not being able to cook or crochet.

Thanks for letting me vent!

deborah

Welcome to the forum Chef! Sorry you have to be here. Let's pray you will have slow progression so you may be able to enjoy your activities for a long while.

It is overwhelming when first diagnosed, for sure. Hopefully you will find support from your family and friends and this forum.

My husband had the opposite reaction about the loss he has experienced. He would rather it have been his legs to go first than his speech. But, he's grateful to still be here!:p

I had to look up Culloden, hadn't heard of that town before. Sounds like an interesting, historic little place to live. Curious as to why you went to Mayo/Jacksonville instead of Emory/Atlanta.

Good luck to you!

PS - we live out in the country in NE GA.