Diagnosis
03/2009
Country
US
State
NY
City
Chateaugay
I am new to this, so please bear with me. My mom was diagnosed with MND yesterday. I know nothing about it so I need a little help. She was first diagnosed with a stroke, it showed that on the MRI. Now the new doctor tells her she has MND. She has slurred speech for about a year and a half, foot drop on one side and some weakness in her other foot. Any thoughts and suggestions from anyone would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

sorry for your mom to have that dldred,what do you want to know?i think if you search in this forum you will find the answer for every Question you have,sorry again for your mom

Ditto to what John said. We are here for any way we can help. Misery loves company they say, but it isn't all misery. We make the best of every day.

Thanks for your support, I guess it it just a waiting game. I have been looking at different posts here and do find them helpful. It is just very hard to not know what will happen.

Thanks again

dldred,

I am so sorry your mom was diagnosed with MND. My Dad was diagnosed last month and I am still reeling. I think you are off to a great start by seeking more information and there is a wealth of knowledge here. I searched through the threads here and learned a great deal of information and questions to ask.

I hope your MD has provided you info about the local ALS/MND society and a clinic that specializes in ALS/MND. Our local ALS society rep provided my parents with a bunch of reading material and resource information. The therapists/staff at the ALS clinic were knowledgeable and caring and have offered contact info for when we have questions.

I hope we can learn from each other as we go.
Dana