Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
TN
City
Knoxville
i'm a first time poster but have followed this site since my mom was diagnosed back in august. i first wanted to say what an amazing community you have and how much you all have inspired me and what a big help you have been. the reason i'm finally posting is that i'm in a bit of a pinch. i'd really like to get my mom some things for christmas that might make her life a little easier. (she can still walk and get around, but has a lot of trouble speaking and also with her hands). i'm in grad school and got overwhelmed with end of semester stuff, and am ashamed to admit it but haven't done any research yet about what's out there. i was thinking of things that could maybe help you open doors or take lids off things, but really i have no idea. i was hoping some of you could give me some advice about any devices or things that have helped you. i am a broke grad student so don't have tons to spend, but i'd be willing to spend more if y'all think of something that really helps. i know it's last minute but any ideas would be a huge help. thanks.

Hi there. Welcome to the fourm, although I am sorry to hear about your Mom. And thanks for the kind words!

A lot of folks have had success with some of these products: http://www.sammonspreston.com/

ALso, my son is getting me an electronic door pass-key so I do not have to turn the deadbolt. The one he is getting for us has a programmable thumbprint system, but I hear the major stores like Lowes make dead-bolts that turn with a remote control device.

Personally, I like the key-turners, since I still drive. JMO. Cindy

If someone came and filled my freezer full of healthy, ready-made meals, I would be tickled pink.

Oh wait! Me too. I just revised my wish list!

Hey becca!

Love your name, would have named my daughter that if I had one!

Anyway- for my husband who is having trouble with his hands and arms -