Diagnosis
10/2016
Country
US
State
Fl/MA
City
FL Keys/Sterling MA
Has anyone out there ever heard of a cooperative living arrangement for PALS? I’m dreaming of a community setting (small group home?) that encourages the involvement of CALS (+ family/friends) but with considerable relief for CALS from the 24/7 commitment. Also the mutually supportive involvement of PALS themselves at whatever stage, contributing according to abilities and interests. ?

One of my PALS friends and I considered this because we were both slow progressing. That was back in 2015. I'm a CPA and she is an attorney so we would have set it up as a non-profit and done most of the organizational work ourselves. Unfortunately, it was hard to locate property in our area zoned for this purpose. If we had more time I believe it would have worked. I still believe it is a good idea and I also believe a grant could be written or private funding could be attained.

We discussed liability insurance and even spoke with some health care professionals who were interested. We explored various ways to "buy in" and "cash out" and there were several options. We located one property that had four large bedrooms and three large bathrooms. There was a heated pool and the grounds were flat so making it wheelchair accessible and putting in a pool lift would have been pretty easy and inexpensive.

Both of us are single and had little or no family involved.

I still like the idea but decided to go in another direction. I did meet with an RN who had a group home nearby. She took care of five elderly people with both physical and cognitive issues. Her husband did all the ground work and she hired CNAs to assist with bathing, feeding, etc.

I think the next best thing is the dedicated ALS homes (St. Margaret's in New Orleans is one) but they are very costly. I considered that one myself.

Thanks so much for all that info, Kim!