So I'm looking for some insight? I guess.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DCWatson

Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
MO
City
Pacific
Hi. So I'm new to this and feel kinda odd talking about it online, but I am at a point in all this crazy that I'm looking for some life experience of other people. So here goes the story my dad was diagnosed with ALS at 31 years old he is now 47 so 16 years. I'm not really sure of what I'm supposed to say other than what was the end like? For other familys? My sister and I are doing full time care (I'm 23 and she is 21) and I guess I want to know what we should prepare for? I'm sure its different across the board I guess I'm Just reaching for something.....

Everyone is different and your dad is already an outlier at 16 years. Is he on a vent? Does he have a feeding tube? If you tell us a little bit about where he is at people might be able to say more though no one can predict. I am sorry you and your sister have grown up with this. It is hard and it changes you in many ways - not all bad though.