Old 09-11-2017, 08:38 PM #1 (permalink)

City: New Westminster
State: BC
Diagnosed: 08/2017
Interest: I have been diagnosed with ALS.
Tedstehr is on a very distinguished roadTedstehr is on a very distinguished road
Tedstehr is on a very distinguished roadTedstehr is on a very distinguished road
Default Tin foil hats

A few years ago I was using some bug spray that had a warning label that said "May cause ALS." I used it anyway, and even breathed a little extra in because it had an oddly appealing smell.

And when I worked as a diesel mechanic 30 years ago we used to sit around and discuss how long we could do this job until we contracted ALS.

Well this isn't true of course. But I am pretty sure that we all speculate what caused us to develop this disease. I noticed from another thread that many contributors had theories (e.g. pesticides from non-organic food.)

Why don't we toss some ideas around? Maybe one day people will read this thread and say "wow, that person had the right idea!"

My two guesses would be exposure to insecticide and exposure to diesel exhaust. I never used or breathed a lot of insecticide, but I have used it a few times over the years. And I did work in truck shops for a few years where the smell of diesel exhaust definitely hung in the air. And related to working in a shop, perhaps exposure to carburator and brake cleaner sprays?
Thanks from
KimT (09-21-2017)
Old 09-11-2017, 08:43 PM #2 (permalink)
Very Helpful Member
Forum Moderator

City: Colorado Springs
State: CO
Diagnosed: 11/2012
GregK has disabled reputation
Very Helpful Member
Forum Moderator

City: Colorado Springs
State: CO
Diagnosed: 11/2012
GregK has disabled reputation
Default Re: Tin foil hats

My wholly unsupported suspicion is the 2-4D I sprayed around the farm as a kid.
Old 09-11-2017, 09:00 PM #3 (permalink)
Forum Moderator

City: Vancouver
Diagnosed: 06/2015
Interest: I have been diagnosed with UMND/PLS.