01/2017
Country
UK
State
London
City
London
Hi all,
I have bulbar onset lower motor neurone ALS, and am getting very tired a lot of the time. I know fatigue is aa big issue for ALS patients. Does anyone have any hints or suggestions/meds etc?
I have been chelating for a couple of months, which could add to the problem.
Thanks
Steve

Conserving energy seems to be one of the best strategies.

What do you enjoy doing the most, and what do you enjoy less that takes a lot of energy? The latter are things you may look at modifying. It's different for each person so this example is just a thought starter not a suggestion.

It would take my Chris 20 minutes to dress of a morning and by the time he finished he was exhausted. The first day I dressed him and it took less than 2 minutes he was stunned as he had not realised how long it was taking him and how much effort.

He suddenly could get up, be dressed by me, and come out to enjoy his breakfast and coffee and actually receive some energy from those calories :)

I am not sure if you've had a night time breathing assessment, or if you have a BiPAP already. It might be a good idea to make sure your breathing is not compromised while you sleep. It can definitely make a difference in your daytime energy if your breathing is affected at night.

Are you getting good nourishment and enough quality calories each day? I know when I skip a meal I get exhausted and crabby, too. Also sufficient hydration is necessary to avoid exhaustion.

Thank you everyone,
Some great suggestions. It seems there's no easy solution, i.e a drug that can help. I have trouble with my nasal passages, and I suddenly wake up with severe cramp in one of my legs, so sleep isn't as restful as it could be. I am taking magnesium for my leg cramps, but it doesn't seem to be helping. I don't need a BiPAP, and don't know how to get a night time breathing assessment. I live in London UK. I am eating well and drinking plenty.
Thanks,
Steve.