Diagnosis
06/2015
Country
CA
State
BC
City
Vancouver
Is anyone here who has used, or is using, Metoclopramide for gut motility issues? If so, what has been your experience? Has it affected your spasticity one way or another? Did it give you twitches, further involuntary movements or chorea? Anyone achieved success with it? I admit, I'm worried about the side effects, but my doc would like me to give it a try.

Thank you for any advice or feedback either way-

Fiona

The most worrisome possibility is the risk of developing tardive dyskinesia, which would be a living hell. I have heard only heavy users have acquired this problem, but I'm not a doctor and have no idea whether you would be at risk for this based on the dose your doctor is proposing, but you might want to get a second opinion before starting a drug that has caused such a severe condition in some patients.

Thanks, Dave. This will be a brief session with a low dose to see if it helps- and Benztropine will also be taken with it to manage the potential dyskinesia. I am (very!) aware of the risks, but the doctor is weighing the balance between the health problems that arise from low/slow gut motility and potential involuntary movement. I was hoping others with spasticity and who have taken this drug could provide some feedback, but it appears it's an uncommon treatment. Though I do notice that many here over the years have experienced gi issues.

I am unfortunate in that I have often respond to drugs in such a way that proves opposite to the goal intended. Sometimes it can be beneficial, but other times it's immediately noticeable that the symptoms I am trying to target become measurably worse- Baclofen being my most spectacular failure so far.

Thanks again