Reason
PALS
Country
US
State
North Carolina
City
Raleigh
Long story short was screening for a trial. Everything good except for liver function so I'm rejected for a month and taken off riluzole. I rarely have a single drink and eat no processed foods.

Only changes in life as far as meds/food are:
Started riluzole 2/6/17
went gluten free 2/10/17

ALT (17-63 u/l)
ALT 2/14/17- 36
ALT 3/7/17- 41
ALT 4/13/17- 182

AST (15-41 u/l)
AST 2/14/17- 28
AST 3/7/17- 28
AST 4/13/17- 63

Has anyone else had huge spikes like this with Riluzole? I'm seeing a GP tomorrow but I have zero faith in a GP's knowledge of Riluzole, ALS, or anything outside of flu shots and z packs.

Thoughts?

Yes it happens to some. I don't think anyone can predict which person will have it if they seem healthy. I think the numbers usually go back down if you stop riluzole promptly as you did

I thought you were going to have a biopsy to rule in/ out celiac? What happened with that?

Biopsy was scheduled for may. Was trying to get into np001 so it was going to be canceled. I've been Gluten free 100% since feb just to be safe. My celiac blood test was through the roof so they said to go that route as a precaution period. Basically told me I'd have to go back on gluten for a month before the biopsy and I say heck no. After a month off of it I had a definate exposure and was sick as a dog for 3 days.

I don't blame you for not wanting to reexpose yourself to gluten but my understanding is that the biopsy may give a false negative if you are gluten free as the inflammation subsides with gluten free eating. What does your neuro say? Given all of this is there doubt about ALS? It would be so wonderful if you turned out to have a mimic!!!

Nope. Gene testing came back SOD1. We got all excited about the celiac as a mimic and then got the gene test back. Plus my father had ALS so I wasn't counting on a 1 in 3 mil mimic with family history. I knew I was hosed.