Diagnosis
08/2015
Country
US
State
South
City
The Beach
I'm writing this for the benefit of all CALS and PALS.

I've been a CPA for nearly 40 years. Part of this has involved personal financial planning and teaching personal financial planning at the college and university level.

PLEASE make sure you have a financial plan and your spouse AND children (if age appropriate) understand this plan and your wishes concerning your finances. It's a disservice to your spouse to not involved him or her in your financial plan and decisions. This is not directed to PALS and CALS but EVERY family. Children need to know if you plan on paying for their college, plan on helping them, or if they are responsible for funding their own education. If you are in debt, your spouse needs to know exactly what type of debt you have, how it will be covered in the event of a job loss, disability, or death.

I've helped so many clients and students navigate their way out of a disaster that their spouse knew nothing about. On the other hand, one student had over two million in an IRA and her husband thought they were destitute.

If you are single, you need to have all your financial information accessible to your lawyer or someone you trust to execute your wishes.

Transparency is vital when assets are combined in a marriage or other close relationship.

BIG THUMBS UP.

I was so worried about my mom going broke in old age. She refused to answer the simplest money question.
So I put my family through very big sacrifices, uprooted our home, put us into welfare status, to be physically there for my mom if she needed us.
When she died, we found over a million dollars in her accounts. (Which she willed to someone else, by the way.)

I have put all my accounts with instructions into a single red book and told my kids what to do in case I'm incapacitated or dead.