Diagnosis
N/A
Country
US
State
NC
City
Pittsboro
I'm doing a walk mid September and have worked my butt off on fundraising. The past few weeks I've raised $1700 on my own. A friend was recently told by a financial planner that the ALS Association only puts 11 cents on the dollar of donations towards the cause, the rest goes towards their adminstrative costs, events, etc.... is this true? I guess I'm being unrealistic, I am new to charity causes, but this is very disappointing to me?! How can I find this out for sure? It's not going to change what I've done or what I'll keep doing, I just expected more to go towards the cause.

Thanks for your input and thoughts on this.

Ashley

-------------- Forwarded Message: --------------
To: <[email protected]>
Cc: "Alan King" <[email protected]>
Subject: RE: Administrative Expense
Date: Fri, 10 Aug 2007 15:26:33 +0000

Mr. Hammond –
This is a email that was sent to my husband after a meeting on the walk in Atlanta.
He ask how the money was used. Hope this helps. They have been great to us.

The Board recently reviewed and approved the audit for fiscal year 2007 (February 1, 2006 through January 31, 2007). Based on these financials, the organization commits 81% of funds to our programs to serve patients and families and 20% to administrative costs (this includes fundraising at approximately 16% and general administrative at approximately 3%). We have not currently listed our audited financials on the website but I would be happy to share a copy of these documents with you if you’d like to see them. Please let me know and feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.

Thanks,

Connie

Hi Ashley,

I don't know why your Financial Planner would try to injure the ALSA like that, but here is a pie chart showing their actual expenditures in 2005.

Administration 8 percent, Research 43 percent, Patient/Community Services 20 percent, Education 14 percent, Fundraising 15 percent

Mike

Attachments

• pie_fye2005.jpg