Reason
PALS
Country
US
State
ma
City
chelsea
I would like to hear comments regarding PALS experience with living in nursing homes. Does anyone have any idea as to the percent of ALS patients living in a long term care facility.

I have no experience with this, as my dad stayed at home with my mom. The only thing I can tell you is that there are very few facilities that will take a person on a ventilator, and those may be hard to get a place in when needed. My dad was not on one (ventilator), but I did look into it in case he chose that option. At the time, doctors/social workers all insisted that it was impossible for a person to be cared for at home on a ventilator. I have since learned that this is not completely accurate information. I do not know if there is similar resistance at many nursing homes for dealing with other equipment such as bi-paps, cough assist machines and PEG tube feedings. In any event, the cost for specialized care is enormous.

Hi,
This may be slightly off topic, but I do have a question about nursing homes too.

My husband is a PALS, and I'm finding it more and more difficult to care for him. It doesn't help that he is very uncooperative - I would like to get home care but he refuses. I haven't had more than 4 hours of sleep in months, and I'm so tired I don't know what to do anymore - still working full-time (average 60 hrs wk - management so I don't have a choice!). I was wondering about a personal care home - what are the criteria for accepting a patient? I do have medical benefits, and I'm in Canada so cost isn't so much of an issue.

Any suggestions would sure be appreciated.
Thanks,
Beaner

nursing home

Hi,