Diagnosis
11/2014
Country
CA
State
ontario
City
London
i know that it's impossible to,know how long someone has but I wish I had a crystal ball. My love was diagnosed last November. He was walking with a walker until about April when he began a quick decline. He can no longer walk, although he can still weight bear. His hands are flaccid and can't grip anymore, his speech is almost unintelligible, and he has lost so much weight- I would guess 30 or 40 pounds. He's not hungry, ever. He is a smoker and can no longer hold his own cigarette, it's increasingly difficult for him to draw on it. Although he doesn't use any machines, he is having such a hard time anymore clearing his lungs. He chokes easily on his fluids, and no longer eats any solids.
We have applied for long term care as I work full time and I am at my breaking point. But if I only knew how long he had, maybe I would keep,him at home and get through it!
I am new to all of this- can anyone give me any advice?

That's not a question anyone can answer. If if you're thinking of taking time off, the government just increased the compassionate leave from 6 weeks to 26 weeks. You don't have to take it all at once. It's not a lot of money, but every little bit helps. Long term care has huge waiting lists. Have you tried to get home care? This is not a disease to take on alone.
Vincent

Be prepared. You must always try to be several steps ahead of the disease. Before you think you need a hospital bed, get it. Before you need a cough assist machine, get one.

If you haven't already, it's past time to have made final arrangements.

It makes sense to say that there's no way to predict life expectancy. But I'll go against convention and tell you that I think your PALS is progressing quickly. His timeline sounds a little somewhat comparable to my PALS. My wife lived 9 months from first symptom.