Diagnosis
01/2015
Country
Uni
State
Michigan
City
battle creek
I am new here. My mother has als. she was diagnosed in jan 2015. She can't swallow much. She can't speak and drools. She is refusing treatment and hoarding xanax. She has asked me to get her more. She wants me to call her doctor. He knows she is suicidal and won't give her anmore.

Yesterday she came to me and had some of her prescriptions and asked how many of each she should take. i'm a Paramedic and I told her I didn't know. She got angry and left me ascathing note about how i owe it to her to help her.

I don't know how to handle this. Has anyone else had this happen to them? it's not up to me to make her stay in a body that is betraying her. it is also not my place to help her in any way. i have 3 children and i'm not going to jail for anyone and leaving my children without a mother.

can someone please help me?

FoxMedic, you're right to think about your children first. And you're right that your mother makes her own decisions. Can she walk or use her arms?
--Mike

She is alert and oriented and has no other symptoms yet. thank you so much for replying. i'm at my wits end. she can't be committed, she doesn't want to live anymore and i don't blame her. i might want to do the same thing if i were in her shoes. she just doesn't understand that there is nothing i can do to help.

every day she asks. i'm afraid to go out that one of my kids may find her. i'm afraid to find her! i'm afraid to sleep. i've lost 15 pounds already this past month. my last semester of school starts in afew weeks. i'm on the edge. i just want to make her happy and i can't anymore.