Diagnosis
10/2017
Country
US
State
NJ
City
Northern
Hi everyone. Does anyone know if applying for these benefits would negatively impact any benefit you get from Medicare? Thanks!

Shouldn't, but once he's in the va system the va will pay for everything. Meds, equipment, doctor visits, etc. I do know that his disability check he will get from the va does not count against ssi or SSDI.

Ditto that. Once VA benes kick in there's no need for Medicare.

The monthly VA pension will be a Godsend for your family- as are all the other benefits. You can't go wrong!

as a Vietnam vet, I have applied for VA benefit and love what they are doing for me.

Medicare is somthing you pay into, not a need based program like Medicaid, so no, VA benefits won't affect it. The VA is much more generous than Medicare, since it is healthcare rather than insurance, but you can use both. We have gone outside of the VA when my husbands needs to be seen quickly, as there is generally a wait at the VA--then we have his records sent to the VA doc.

If you are waiting for a compensation ruling, you can apply for the health benefits seperately. It take just a.couple of weeks to get approval and you dont have to wait for the comp approval to use the health benefits. You can schedule your appointments right away. I had to go with a power of attorney to the local VA hospital even though my husband was in the system to get him an appointment. Va has primary care type clinics all over that can save you travel but for als clinic they said it is at the main hospitals/centers. They are doing an intake physical with bloodwork for my husband then he will be referred to clinic at the va. Appt is Jan 8. Dont delay...the VA seems to be very good but even expedited its slow.