Diagnosis
07/2013
Country
US
State
SC
City
Gaffney
Today is my one year anniversary. I'm not sure if it is a time to celebrate? A lot has happen in the past year. I am in a wheelchair about 75% of the time. Can only walk short distances, have very little upper body strength, can hardly carry a cup of coffee. Can not dress or bath myself with the help of my wife. I never knew how many muscles it took to pull up your pants. Thank goodness my breathing is ok and no signs of bulbar at this point. My weight is still good. Starting to lose control of my hands and arms more and more each week. I'm a veteran and thank goodness for all that I have been provided by the VA. I have been turned down for A/A even though my wife has to quit her job to help care for me? I'm starting back to exercise daily to help with my swelling feet and numbness due to poor circulation. Will start slow on stationary bike and light weights every other day. I continue to fight everyday and work hard to keep a positive attitude for my wife and my 11 year old son. I pray for all of the PALS/CALS on this site and hope research comes up with a treatment/cure for this awful disease in the near future.

I know this year has brought a lot of changes in your life. I'm glad you are staying positive and are able to enjoy time with your family.

Well, you're alive! That's a good thing. lol
I think we will see some improvement with treatments soon, so hang in there, and enjoy what you have now.
Stay positive!
Casey

Hi Danrising!