US
State
Tx
City
Austin
Will see how much I have deteriorated

>Will see how much I have deteriorated

breathe deep!

Good luck. Haven't heard about the peg tube for a while. Presume it's working better. Mine is to be installed next week. Alex

I'm beginning to hate clinic days for that very reason. To be sure, I appreciate the efforts and the concern from all of the staff, doctors and nurses but, in the end, it really does turn out to be "what else can't I do now?"
I had my clinic this Tuesday, and my respiratory numbers took a nosedive... that sucked! The weakness and atrophy everywhere else I can see and gauge on my own, but the 'numbers' they give at the appointment never seem to be a source of comfort!
Granted, I've been doing the quarterly clinics for 3 years now, so by comparison my 'progress' has been slow and not much worth mentioning. Still, it sucks when the downward slope gets steeper, and the progression faster than it has been.

When the hell are the smart folks gonna find us a treatment?!? Sure am glad they're trying, but in the famous words of Yoda, "No try; do!"

My FVC numbers went from 69 to 61 in 2 months. Was not happy with that. left arm a little weaker and weakness starting in right shoulder now. The PEG tube is doing OK now-still oozing a bit but other than that OK.
He actually mentioned a life expectancy based on my decline from last time-said about 2 years from diagnosis.

I was overwhelmed on my first and only clinic day, a week before EMG official diagnosis. Then I found the VA through a PALS widow. They don't do clinic days, but individual appointments are spread out, which I like much better. It helps that the VA Hosp is only 8 miles away. My last FVC was improved over the prior one, probably due to the cough machine, which I don't use every day.