Diagnosis
06/2014
Country
US
State
Tx
City
Austin
Tried 1st peg feeding today. When using gravity feeding the pressure in my stomach was high enough that no formula went into the tube. The only way to get formula in was to plunge it. Anyone have any suggestions?

I've just had a tube for a couple of weeks so I'm still kind of new to the whole system but I have found that I must raise the syringe as high as possible to really get things flowing. If I hold it low nothing moves. Water and beer fly right thru, the thicker formula definitely moves slower.

welcome to the forum. You should introduce yourself and your condition in the new members section. Thanks for the input

When I was tube feeding my mom, I would stand next to her bed and hold the syringe up as if I were making a toast with a glass of wine. This also straightened out the actual tube leading into the body which also helped with the flow...but due to the thickness, it was pretty slow. Don't forget to flush it before and after each feeding to avoid build-up and clogging.

Neil another trick can be not to be sitting up too straight as that can put pressure on your stomach.

Sometimes to get the flow started I would have to just kind of hold the syringe fairly high and get Chris to force his stomach up and down a bit and lean back a little.

It's so hard to describe with text, I can see the little tricks in my mind as I type but can't find the words lol

I never plunged the feed in, but make sure you also start just with water. Water is thinner so more likely to get the flowing started. As the water is halfway running out, add a bit of whatever you are using for the feed, ensure or jevity or whatever, so it is still a bit thinner and the flow is starting. Then you can lower the syringe a bit and move to the full thickness of the feed.

Hope that helps!

God Neil, nothing on this peg has been easy for you. UGH.