09/1998
Country
CA
State
Ontario
City
Kapuskasing
Hi everybody;

i Had posted tHis message on anotHer als web forum but felt tHat i sHould sHare it Here as well ! i am sHaring wHat Has worked for me and Hopefully i can stimulate otHer pals to sHare wHat Has worked for tHem.

i get tHe flu often, since i Have small kids tHat bring Home every bug Home from scHool! tHe following is my regular plan of attack tHat Has worked for me. i Have been successful in preventing tHe use of antibiotics and Hospitalizations. tHis of Has been done witH my doctor. maybe otHers could find a plan of attack of tHeir own witH tHe Help of tHeir doctor?
1-everybody Has been made aware to stay away from my House if tHey Have a cold or flu.
2-i Have masks for tHe people tHat Have to come in briefly, witH a cold or flu.
3- tHe flu sHot and tHe pneunovax sHot as a preventative measure.
4-at first signs tHat i am getting a flu, i start my tamiflu as prescribed. i Have been doing tHis for tHe last 3 years!
5-start taking vitamin c.
6-pusH fluids, wHicH is easier now witH my feeding tube.
7-i Have a nebulizer and i take ventollin witH extra normal saline, 2 to 4 times a day as needed for my astHma. if i am not wHeezy and just feel cHest congestion witH tHick mucous tHen i just use plain saline tHat is specially made for tHe nebulizer.
8-my nose and sinuses always get affected, so i use a nasal decongestant spray as directed.
9-put tHe bipap Humidifier at a HigHer Humidity level
10-Have a room Humidifier wHile off tHe bipap
11-use tHe full face mask instead of tHe nasal bipap mask for tHe nasal congestion
12-use tHe portable suction macHine wHen needed

we all sHould be prepared witH a plan of attack to treat ourselves witH tHe flu or cold, done witH your doctor of course. especially witH all tHe news about tHe bird flu!

regards;

patsy

patricia seguin-tremblay,
kapuskasing ontario, canada
p.a.l.s. (person witH amyotropHic lateral sclerosis)