Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
California
City
San Francisco
Hello: I am new to ALS Forums. My brother has sporadic ALS. Symptoms first began
01/2013.

I have read numerous articles about causes of ALS. I have been in touch with Michael
Hoffmann, a German scientist and researcher whose wife is 5 years into ALS.

This article is from Dr. Hoffmann:

http://www.aascit.org/author/download?paperId=531&stateId=8000&fileType=3

This article is about uncoupling proteins:

Up-regulation of mitochondrial uncoupling protein 3 reveals an early muscular metabolic defect in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

Dr. Hoffmann suggests trying to find supplements that would decrease hyperactivity
of uncoupling proteins. Currently, he suggests: 1) Gardiniae Fructuse Extract, 2)
Genipin (active ingredient in#1), 3) American Ginseng, 4) Creatine.

Dr. Hoffmann also suggests that the medulla oblongata is involved along with increased
Sympathetic Nervous System activity.

There is some research I have discovered that suggests Gardiniae Fructuse extract
(Zhi Zi in Chinese medicine) helps reduce uncoupling protein activity.

I just wanted to share this. Dr. Hoffmann's theory is a different way of looking at
cause of ALS. He believes it takes years for ALS to develop and it may take some time
to slow or halt progression.

Hope this helps stimulate discussion.

"sporadic" and ALS do not mesh

>I suppose another plausible explanation that hypertension incidence is trigged by the underlying cause of ALS

very likely ...

-----
Max - Friday, July 18, 2014 12:53:18 PM
-----
onset 9/2010, diagnosed with ALS by Stanley Appel 8/29/2013
It Is What It Is ...

Sporadic ALS is the medical term for non-genetic ALS. They are SALS. Those of us who are familial are FALS ( I recently heard of GALS which means a person has ALS and a confirmed genetic mutation)