Reason
CALS
Country
US
State
mn
City
portland
Hi, this is my first time posting. I have been on here many times but never wanted to post. My husband was diagnosed with als in April. He can no longer talk and gets all of his nutritional needs by feeding tube, also all of his meds. He has lost 45lbs. We are doing the best that we can. Just trying to get through each day. His biggest problem right is that he can't sleep. He takes 50mg of rilutek twice a day, 20mg of amitriptyline and 50 mg of sertraline a day. The anti depressants he take at bed time. Every ounce in a while he needs an anxiety pill. He also take melatonin, 10mg. He still can't sleep. Is there anything out there that can help? The doctor seems hesitant to want to give anything that might help.

We used Benedryl at night, that helps. when it lost its effectiveness, we switched to Tylenol PM. When that stops helping, we are going back to the Benedryl.

Why doesn't the doc want to give him something to help with sleep?

Almost all drugs people take are metabolized in the liver.
Rilutek is known for elevating liver enzymes and who knows what else in the liver.

I'm surprised he's not responding to Amythryptyline as it has properties of inducing people to sleep.

Although, I think his Doctor may fear adding more medications than he's already taking to avoid serious drug interactions as he's already taking several drugs on daily basis.
I might be wrong but, who knows.

Regards,

Do you have his head and shoulders raised? As breathing becomes more difficult, laying flat can make it even more uncomfortable, causing anxiety that leads to sleep difficulty. His last few weeks, Glen actually found it easier to sleep in his recliner than even the hospital bed.