Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
California
City
Concord
This is my first post here but I have been studying ALS since my twin brother's wife was diagnosed less than 2 years ago. They are on the east coast and I am on the west so last time I visited was last Aug. At that time she was paralyzed in the legs only. Now she is from the neck down and on the breathing machine a lot - still I good spirits, able to talk and eat. I am going to help give my twin some caregiver relief and am looking for any tips from you out there with regard to what to expect , what's the best way for me to "be" with her. I am a massage therapist and am hoping to give her massages, but want to make sure I say/do the right things for her. I recently watched "I'm still breathing"- a beautiful film. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. I leave on July 20.

Just be yourself, talk to her like you did before she was diagnosed. I am sure the massages will be appreciated. She is still the same person on the inside. Ask her what she needs and I am sure your brother will give you instructions. Just enjoy your time with them.

Respect her as always. Massages are great and if you can offer assistance with Range of Motion exercises, that would be great too! It's wonderful that you're there for your brother and sister-in-law. Your brother might need help around the house too! Enjoy your time together. Yasmin.