Diagnosis
12/2012
Country
US
State
ohio
City
lima
Hi everyone. i'm new to this so bear with me. My husband was diagnosed with ALS december 2012. He actually started having symptoms a year and half ago. He is in motorized wheelchair. I do everything thing for him. Feed, bathe, dress,medicate. He is just beggining to have some swallowing issues. I've been through many emotions over the past year and half mostly I'm angry. I'm doing my best to deal with it however as you know it's very difficult to see someone you love grow weaker every day. My question is how will I know when things get really bad. Do all ALS patients have to get PEG tube and vents. Is this something they all face the suffering or do they ever not have to suffer through this horrible disease. If anyone out there ca help please let me know. Thanks to all.

Floryb,
I was diagnosed in July 2012, and am struggling to figure it out too. Are you involved in an ALS support group? I suggest you do so, if possible, as they can direct you to services and assistance. I have found I have to be very proactive and do things on my own, and sometimes, be a bit forceful if people don't feel the sense of urgency. I too am wondering if everyone ends up in the same place, just the journey is different? Maybe someone out there can help us with that information. Do you go to an ALS clinic? They should have a social worker/occupational thereapist who can help you make things easier at home. It looks like the people here are very helpful and encouraging. Blessings,
Jacquie

Your husband and mine are almost in the same situation time wise and I also am doing all the same stuff as you. Where I live there are no clinics or support groups. I try to take it day to day and believe that what ever is coming his way I will find a way to deal with it, it is a different road for every patient and caregiver.