Father recently diagnosed but progressing quickly.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lil_star

Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
Ct
City
Enfield
This is my first time being at this site. I am trying to reach out to others who have gone through this to get advice. My father is 56 he was diagnosed with Als in Oct 2012. He is progressing a lot faster than I realized and I live 4 hours away from him. He has my sister there but it's rather hard for me to see him as much as I would like to. It makes me feel guilty about being so far away. And every time I text or call him I know he is going through pain because his arms are very painfully and he can barely use them. He's right arm has no strength and his left seems to be getting worse just as fast. I'm not sure how to cope with this. His own father passed when he was young which means I never got to meet him (my grandfather). It has always been difficult because my father doesn't talk about him much. I have no children right now only my sister has a kid. And he wants to meet his grand kids before he passes. But my husband doesn't want kids. I know this is more venting than really asking for advice but to get right down to it. I don't know how to get past the fact that my father is dying and quickly (or so it feels). How do u deal with something like this. I have tried talking to my mother ( my parents are divorced but they get along quite well) and my sister but it seems nobody is taking it quite as bad as I am. How do I make things better for him and how do I try to make things easier for me?

I think you 're going through part of the grieving process, which is pretty normal at this stage. While it may seem like he's progressing fast, it may plateau for a bit. Is your family working together to get things in place before he needs them? It makes it easier to have it around before you need to rely on it. If his hands are going, then maybe a speech to text program would help him.