Status
Not open for further replies.

karenmorrison

I am new to the ALS as I have met a wonderful man who was diagnosed approximately 2 years ago. He still walks not too badly with a cane, and can manage the stairs at my house. His voice seems to be the weakest. He does experience nightmares, and I am not sure if it is due to his medications. We are considering moving in together, and I truly am not sure what I am in for. I love him and want to be there for him, but worry that it is more than we will be able to handle. From what I have read, I believe the life expectancy is 5 years. Just looking for some support and hope to be able to learn more from this forum. Thank you in advance :?

Hi Karen:

You're right it's a big step. Most of us "caregivers" came by this naturally. What you can expect is that, you will become 50% partner and 50% nurse... with all the good and bad stuff that goes with that. I won't elaborate too much but... I looked afer my wife for 4 years and I remember, at the ripe old age of 48, that I was the only male I knew of who prayed for menopause to strike every month!
If you decide to do it... and there are lots of positive things that go along with that decision, there are a lot of people here who will help. All you have to do is ask!

T.

Karen - you've found the right group. There are a couple of others at your stage in the relationship. Also, several spouses as CALS and PALS. We've got a very mixed group but it is also a wise group. Hope you stop in regular. Melissa