Diagnosis
08/2012
Country
US
State
TX
City
Mabank
I left my job after 20 years yesterday. I have 12 weeks of sick leave and then will have no insurance or income. I have lost my ability to speak coherently. I cry so easily and without provocation. My pulmonary test are compromised but not eligible for oxygen yet. The ventilators have given me thrush. I have bulbar ALS. I am just learning to live with my life as it is. I am on this forum because I feel so alone and frightened of each day. I am really not into self pity and have a God journal that I post in frequently, but I would like to reach out out to each of you and just know that I am not alone on this journey.

So sorry to meet you here. You are not alone on this journey. We are here to give information and friendship. I too am a Bulbarian. Check with your local AlLS associatîon for help.

jamiem,
You are most definatly NOT ALONE!

I too am a Bulbarian. (tuth be told, we are the smartest ones, that's why they take our voice first. So we don't tell them all how to run the world. LOL)

You will find an unbelievable amount of support, knowledge and friendship here with your forum family.

Each day is "the new normal" embrace it and live it up.

Share what you can, ask what you need, and don't be shy. We know what your going through, really! Hard to believe, but there is not only life after ALS, there is some amazing stuff going on.

I hate my diagnosis, but I love my forum family!

Cheers,
Casey

Hello

So sorry you had to join us here, but you will find great support.

Immediately please apply for SSDI--like Monday. It's automatically approved in ALS cases--and medicare begins the day it begins (unfortunately, after 5 months off work)