12/2011
Country
US
State
CA.
City
Southern
Hello anyone,
My world is rocked here.I am having all the negative emotions going on inside and I thought I try this forum to help me cope! I've never done this chat stuff before so I'm not so great at typing.And I no I have to reinvent some of the way I spend my time and this is a place I can vent.
So if there is someone out there that has some great advise at this time for me I could sure use it!
I've been sick for some time already, all kinds of tests and finally went to a neurologist with weak thighs, upper back and some arm weakness and bingo horror story! I feel it everyday already so I'm scared

Denny,
Sucks that you gotta be here, but "here" is a great place for information, advice, and you can vent your hind parts off!
I'm with you on the "never done this chat stuff before"... before I joined this forum I hadn't done it either.

Some pretty smart folks will have better advice than I can give you, but I will say this; take a (short) time to scream, holler, break stuff and do damage for the diagnosis and then re-set your brain housing group to "Live" mode. Focus on what's good and enjoy it. Adapt what you need to adapt for your symptoms and enjoy some more. Don't live like you were dying (as the country music song suggests), but live like we all should have been living in the first place!

Have you hooked up with the local ALSA group? Like chat boards, that was new to me but I did it anyway. Went to my first meeting this Sunday and it is good medicine, my friend. They also have a Caregiver support group that your significant other (and other family members) would likely benefit from. It all seems kinda foreign in the beginning, but you have to jump in and aggressively manage your care and your mindset.

Best of luck, and you came to the right place!
Jeff

Thanks Jeff,
I've already been doing all those things you listed, the re-setting my brain might take a guy like me a while!