Diagnosis
09/2011
Country
US
State
washington
City
Sunnyside
I have been taking Rilutek since October. I called in to my pharmacy for a refill on this med on wednesday, pharm said it would be ready on Thursday @11:00. So, Thursday I go in to pick up my Rilutek, and they ordered the wrong med. The pharm stated they would reorder and I could pick up on Friday @ 11:00. At this point its ok as I do have enough to get me through the evening dose and morning dose. Well, I go in on Friday and they have no record of it being ordered and the pharm tech who took the order went home sick and they can't get a hold of her. At this drugs point I am worried, as the pharmacist is telling me they will not have it in till possibly Monday!
I will be missing at least 6 doses, of a drug that may slow the progerssion of this wicked disease. Has anyone out there missed doses of this med? The pharmacist had no info as they are not familiar with this drug!

I'm not a doctor but don't think missing the doses will do you any harm.

AL.

I suppose the fear would be that the drug would now be totally out of your system and you would have to start all over to get the full benefit. I would check with another pharmacy closeby. Surely they can help you get it sooner or at least talk with the head pharmacist to understand what the implications would be in the interim. I know it's frustrating because it is a very expensive drug. My mother opted not to take it.

10starr

Just resume the drug when you get it. Always place your order a few days prior as most pharmacies don't routinely stock it. My pharmacy always had to order it, so took a few day to get. I wasn't able to continue using it as it affected my liver function tests.

Bruce has mssed his several times, no problem..