08/2011
Country
US
State
ne
City
omaha
Hi,
My name is Mike I am new to this and I have no clue how this works.
I was diagnosed with ALS August of 2011 My symptoms started in January 2011.
I have tons of questions The First one is what is slow Progression My left side is weaker than my right. will I wake up one day and can't walk? right now I cant lift my leg up to put a sock on.

Hi Mike and welcome to the forum.
It may be a good idea to change your sign in so it does not include your email. Just too many loons out there.
Everyones progression is different, no real pattern to it. As much as we are all individuals, so is the progression of ALS.
There are people here that can give you a better answer than me.
Welcome
Aly

Thank You
I will change it. I had trouble setting up an account.

I agree with Mike - since I too am new - had this same question. Is there some kind of "definition" of what is "fast progression" v. "slow progression"? I know everyone is different, but it would help to be able to compare where I am to a "clinical" definition of slow or fast. I've also heard there may be a plateau. Is this true? How does diet affect this? TIA.

Hi Mike. Very sorry for your diagnosis but you've found a wonderful outlet & resource with this forum. I'm new myself but I'm learning alot. It's a great feeling to know that you are not alone.

I guess I'm slow. Been at it 8 or 9 years now. There are plateaus. You'll lose some function and then be fine (so to speak) for a time and then slide downhill again. No one can tell you how it will be. Plan for tomorrow but live for today.

AL.