Diagnosis
08/2010
Country
US
State
TN
City
Henderson
My husband was diagnosed August 6, 2010 and has went from a healthy 32 year old man, father and husband to not being able to do anything for himself over the last year. This weekend scared me, he went to bed Friday night and woke up way worse than he was the night before. I am completely baffled. I am a nurse and this is just not right. His speech was vary bad, but now there is NO comprehensible sounds, just moans and groans. Could move extremities just a little, drive his own wheelchair, nod his head and even hold his head up for a few seconds. Now the only thing he can move is his eyes. Didn't even have red spots when he went to bed and woke up with several sores on the boney places (which are everywhere). He was eating and drinking-with some choking-now not at all, everything by tube only. Hospice comes and they are as unknowing of what this may or may not mean as I am. Just wondering if this is just part of the cruelty of this horrible disease and if anyone has any advice/input? I have been talking to our 7 year old seeing if he knows how sick daddy is, and he told me that daddy is going to heaven where he won't be sick anymore and will be with "maw maw"; our 3 year old, on the other hand, I don't think she is old enough to understand.

Thanks,

Amber:sad:

Amber, I'm so very sorry. This disease is, indeed, cruel and we never know what direction or pace it will take. It seems to have taken a quick turn on your husband!

I have absolutely no advice. I just want you to know I'm thinking of you and your family. Hugs to your two kids...

Very sorry Amber, it seems like your husband's progression is really fast, I wish I could tell you something to help you , just know we are here for you...Hugs to you!