Diagnosis
10/2010
Country
US
State
Al
City
Valley
How do you keep the syring from being so hard to push when feeding in the peg tube? The big ones we have, 60 ml piston syringe, are awfully hard for me to push, let alone Bruce. Any suggestions?

Don't use the plunger at all, just pull the plunger out and use the barrel as a funnel. I've been doing it this way for almost three years now and it works well.

Last edited:
We found that using warm or hot water to wash the syringes expanded the rubber part and made them so difficult to use. Cold water and soap and then maybe dispose of them sooner.

Barry's way is the way to go. And, mix the formula if it is thick like syrup, with water or milk (it will flow better). Put in a measuring cup with a pointed lip, then pour into the syringe.

Sounds good to me, I will do that Barry, I think maybe I did wash them in warm water, probably did it. Thanks yall

Barry's way is the best. If you push the plunger too hard it could cause a "reflux" and maybe aspiration.

we do exactly what Barry and CJ have explained. Works great.

That's what I do too (pour into syringe without plunger) but, if you need to use the plunger to stir things up if there's a clog.... and the plunger won't go in, a little bit of vegetable oil rubbed on the rubber will make it slide again.

We are still only using the PEG for water, but I am interested in this method. How does the feed go in if you are not pushing it, does it not seep back out? Do you need to have the tube under a particular angle? I mean even opening the tube to release the air (as per my 'belching' thread) means that stuff comes out. D

It should just drain down the tube Danijela, just hold it up straight, the higher you hold it up the faster it goes down, the lower you get makes it go down slower. If they cough or belch make sure you try to pinch the tube or cover it with your hand, or it will come out all over you.