Reason
PALS
Country
US
State
New York
City
Glens Falls
Hi ... I am new at the site ... I was diagnosed with Multifocal CIDP w/ Neuromytonia overlap (I am in my 4th year) - which both are supposed to be autoimmune. Over the last year I have gone to two canes and severe breathing overnight problems and dysphagia progression. The breathing is especially compromised and I am on O2 and CPAP at night (lungs feel like they are hardly moving at times). I have been on all sorts of autoimmune suppression drugs ... but this disease is progressing rapidly. In the AM I feel punch drunk, slurring and hardly able to move and breathing muscles very sore ... could this be turning into an MND-like disorder perhaps - my Neuro, GP and Lung Doc are all out of answers. Anything on info would be a great help - thanks very much!

Hi Ozzy. That's a complicated diagnosis you have there. I'd be asking your lung doc if a Bipap wouldn't be better for you. The site I looked up your diagnosed on said that diaphram weakness could be a problem and that would require Bipap not CPAP. I'm no doctor but sometimes these docs look at the big picture and miss the little things. It's worth mentioning. I got this information from the Neurology division of George Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. They have a good website but it's pretty technical. As for it turning into a MND the site didn't mention that. Welcome to our site anyway. AL.

Last edited:
Thanks for BiPaP Info

Al ... thank you for your suggestion ... I had heard the same about the CPAP vs. BiPaP and I will be asking about a switch ... it's these insurance companies that are the biggest problem. Right now I am set at 8 LBS for air pressure - it does not overwhelm my lungs, but the diphragm does suffer along with the intercoastals every AM - which eventually wakes me up.