3/2010
Country
US
State
TX
City
houston
Hello Everyone,

I just wanted to drop a line and tell everyone hello and stay strong. Thanks to everyone for all the advice and kind words. I have a few questions as I navigate this ALS process. I have been doing some research on benefits however I seem to be getting alot of different answers so some info will be much appreciated. I am beginning to get worried about my finances as my wife is about to have our baby shortly. Here is my situation:

I have not worked since June 2009. I have been a full time student since then. I filed for Social security benefits in may. Is the 6 month SSDI wait mandatory even if I haven't worked sine June 2009?

I am a U S Army Veteran. I filed for benefits in this month. I read that some people get 50%, 70%, and 100% but you have to refile or jump through many hoops.
If it was just me I wouldn't be so worried but a baby is coming and I have no income. What do pals do while we wait?

Thanks in advance

Take care

Lori (SadieMae) told me a bill had been passed to automatically rate a vet pALS at 100%. Don't know when that goes into affect.

As for SSDI, it seems to vary around the country, depending on when you were diagnosed and when you stopped working due to the diagnosed. Whatever date they determine, you will still have to wait 6 months for it to kick in.

Good luck to you and your family and thank you for serving our country!