CALS
Country
US
State
NJ
City
Lincroft
Hi,
Does anyone have any advice for me, I believe my mother has a granuloma and possibly an infection at her peg site. I'm trying to get her to the doctor, (she doesn't want to leave the house) she has had the tube in since mid-March and all has been fine. I clean the site with water & change T-sponge 1-2x per day, she has a bit of discharge now and a yucky looking red tictac shaped lump coming out of the stoma.
Oh boy, the good times never end...LOL

Hi Terri. Sorry to read that your mom has granulation tissue around her peg site. I'm a retired nurse, but years ago I did work with an enterostomal therapist and her big trick was mixing Maalox and desitin ointment and applying around stomas that were granulating. From reading here, many have similar problems and have tried various things without real success i.e. silver nitrate sticks, antibiotic creams etc. I think that you may find the Maalox and desitin will at least be soothing. I have horses and we call the granulation proud flesh. I've had great luck with proud flesh by using very diluted tee tree oil drops(I dilute the tee tree in almond oil)--applying it three times a day. Other horsie friends swear by Preparation H. I can't recommend the Preparation H as I would run that one by your GP first, but obviously it shrinks hemmorhoids so maybe there is something too it <g>. So you have an enterostomal therapist secret, and my horse secret--I suspect you may opt for the enterostomal therapists method. Good luck. That granulation tissue and oozing can be miserable.
Laurel