Diagnosis
08/2011
Country
US
State
Missouri
City
Springfield
I know I've mentioned this before but I can't help but think this odd reflex I have could be a key in figuring out what the heck is going on in my body.

My last neuro appt was my first with neuro #4. He kept tapping my knee, marveling and commenting on such a brisk reflex. Arms pretty much the same, ankle reflexes normal.

Anyway, I tune pianos for a living (as many already know) and every day I notice this odd reflex. I strike the piano key with my left index finger and there is a bobble reflex in my throat with my adam's apple. It is mildly annoying but I know of no other tuners that have noticed this.

Somewhere, out there, there has to be a neurologist that has seen this before; if not with a piano tuner, perhaps with a pianist. Maybe this neuro could tell me, "Oh yeah! I've seen this before and the person wound up having a pimple (okay, a mole) near a particular nerve."

Just a thought...

(I'm off to search for pimples and moles!)

Last edited:
Add "cyst" to your search, Zaphoon. The Baker's cyst I was hoping to have behind my knee may have a cousin near your nerve.

Okay, adding cyst! Any particular color or shape?

Shucks, I'm going to be busy for a while...

HI, dear Zaph. The only thing I noticed playing the piano was that for a LONG time I was unable to do repeat notes fast. Must have been one of the first symptoms but of course how could I know? You are right to search for reasons
Love

Ever since I was a boy I've noticed that certain tones make muscles in my ears contract. I can feel this involuntary contraction when the tones happen. It's like my ear is trying to protect itself from loud noises. I don't know whether everyone has this. I wonder if your throat contraction might be related?

Hyper reflex is just a ALS symptom. Mine are crazy! I can touch my leg with one finger, and kick a hole through the wall! :)